IRIS team awarded Presidential Interdisciplinary Seed Grant

IRIS affiliate Scott Pippin, with the Carl Vinson Institute of Government, was recently awarded a Presidential Interdisciplinary Seed Grant for his proposal, “Developing New Storm Design Criteria for Natural Hazards Planning Research and Practice.” While Pippin is the primary investigator, the team also includes Brian Bledsoe (College of Engineering); Marshall Shepherd, John Knox, Pam Knox, Lynne Seymour and Thomas Mote (Franklin College of Arts and Sciences); and Michelle Ritchie (College of Public Health).

“Receiving this award is both a great honor and an opportunity to develop foundational data and analysis tools to future research efforts and that can be used to build more resilient communities across Georgia,” said Pippin of the award.

Presidential Interdisciplinary Seed Grants are awarded to projects that address challenges at the local, national or global level that align with the goals in UGA’s 2025 Strategic Plan.

Click here to learn more about the projects funded.